#RSFave & Review | From Blood and Ash — I was trying to hold back from starting this series. It didn’t work.


#RSFave & Review | From Blood and Ash — I was trying to hold back from starting this series. It didn’t work.From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Release Date | March 29, 2020
Published by Blue Box Press
Genres | New Adult, Fantasy Romance
Tropes | Enemies to Lovers, Forbidden
Format | eBook, Paperback
Add to TBR | ADD TO GOODREADS
Buy | Amazon | Paperback | Indie Bookstore
Rating |


Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.

A Maiden…
Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.
A Duty…
The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.
A Kingdom…
Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.


Review

I was dead set on not starting this series no matter how many times people that I was crazy for waiting. Eventually the ayes had it and I gave in, I was seeing Jen’s book everywhere and Hawke had me intrigued. I’ve been of JLA’s books since the Covenant series and Aiden is my #1. Even after reading this one, Aiden still holds the spot, but Hawke is easily the second … or perhaps I’ll create a new category when it comes to Jen’s heroes and put him as #1? 😉

If you’ve been a fan of Jen’s from her earlier stages, you can definitely see how much growth there has been with her stories and writing, after reading From Blood and Ash. I’m 100% obsessed with this world that she has created and after getting through the last hundred or so pages of the book, I have soooooooooooooo many questions. Because it sure did pick up immensely towards the end.

OK, if you’ve read my previous JLA reviews before, you know that I’ve loved about every single one of her heroines. They’re amazing and badass in their own way. And Poppy just might be the most BA of them all. But my goodness, I do not envy the path that was laid out for her since she was a childhood. I wanted nothing more than for her to be free from her cage. Not going to lie, there were quite a few moments where I expected her to stand up for herself, but she held it back. And that was really tough for me to swallow. She has some rage that you don’t want to be on the opposite end of  because she will not hold back. She bottles up everything and I totally understand why as much as it killed me to see it happening. You can’t always help the circumstances you were born into, you get told things more than enough times, and you will believe them. Can you blame her?

Even with this being book 1, you still see some growth with her character and I cannot wait to see what she’ll do in A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire. Those last hundred of pages are no joke, not going to lie, my heart broke REPEATEDLY for her and I have no idea whatsoever what’s to come.

Hawke Flynn … boy I was not ready for him at all. His presence is overwhelming in the best way possible. He’s like a mixture of all of Jen’s heroes combined into one. And I know sooooo many fell in love with him from the beginning, I sure did. As. of right now, I’m holding back my 100% devotion to him because … well, you’re just going to have to read to find out.

Poppy and Hawke have everything there when it comes to their connection and chemistry. But there’s a lot of secrets that will be a huge barrier for the both of them. We learn a little bit towards the end, but there’s so much more in the unknown.

It took me a little bit longer than normal to finish this book, it’s rather long. And one thing about some fantasy romance reads that intimidate me is the world-building. Sometimes it can be a bit too much for me and I end up getting lost. For most of the book, the pacing was slow, but you’re learning a lot during that time. Then things REAALLLLLY pick up towards the end and that’s what kicked up the rating a bit for me.

Jen has woven us a rather addicting tale with characters you will be rooting for. I have quite a few theories, so I can’t wait to see which way everything will play out.

About Jennifer L. Armentrout

#1 New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author Jennifer lives in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, hanging out with her husband and her Border Jack Apollo, six judgemental alpacas, two rude goats, and five fluffy sheep. In early 2015, Jennifer was diagnosed with retinitis pigmentosa, a group of rare genetic disorders that involve a breakdown and death of cells in the retina, eventually resulting in loss of vision, among other complications.  Due to this diagnosis, educating people on the varying degrees of blindness has become of passion of hers, right alongside writing, which she plans to do as long as she can.