• Being sick jet lagged AND in Hawaii is the absolute
  • Well I had all the intentions to write some late
  • OK so this is probably my second ever rep search
  • It has been a week Tuesday was the start of
  • Im slowly on the mend from being sick and jetlag
  • 2018 / lindsay emory / review

    Review | The Royal Runaway by Lindsay Emory

    Review | The Royal Runaway by Lindsay EmoryThe Royal Runaway by Lindsay Emory
    Release Date | October 9, 2018
    Published by Gallery Books
    Genres | Contemporary, Women's Fiction
    Format | ARC
    Add to TBR | ADD TO GOODREADS
    Buy | Amazon
    Rating | three-half-stars
    Synopsis |

    For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

    Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

    After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile—aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

    So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

    Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.

    AMAZON | IBOOKS | BARNES & NOBLE | KOBO

    Review

    The Royal Runaway was a first time read from this author and I enjoyed this story full of twists and turns! I wasn’t exactly sure what I was getting myself into when I decided to pick this one up. It was pretty low on the romance, but I quickly realized there was more to the story than Princess Theodora finding love. It was time for her to pave the path of her future.

    The blurb is what sucked me into this book, I was so intrigued and couldn’t wait to start as soon as it landed on my kindle. Who in their right mind would leave a princess at the altar?! Crazy, I tell ya. And that was just the beginning of a journey to find out the truth about the disappearance of her ex-fiance alongside a rather sexy Scot named Nick.

    I absolutely adored Thea, she craved nothing more than to put duty aside and be her own person. To be free to do whatever she wanted to do, to have that bit of freedom. As the story progresses, we see a bit of her naivety fall away and the truth surrounding people she has known for most of her life, even her family. And that’s when she started to take control back in her hands and do what she can to protect her people and country. I really loved witnessing her journey of coming from a low point and picking herself back up again into a much stronger person.

    Nick was always quite a mystery throughout this entire book, I was curious about his true motives. It was evident that there was something strong between them, but he rarely let up about it. He made it pretty obvious that he was fighting his attraction towards Thea also while trying to stay on task of what he was trying to do, but you can only push for so long. I’m not going to lie, I was a bit disappointed with the clean romance in this one, but I know soooo many out there will appreciate that fact. It was still enough for me to just fall in love with these two!

    I loved watching the growth in Thea, someone who grew to be a much stronger leader for her country. There were some moments in the middle that felt like things were moving a bit slowly, but it picked up right away to get you to the end.

    From the adventure, the journey towards strength and confidence and the bits of love in between, made for a very enjoyable read! I’ll definitely look forward to reading more from this author.

    Major thanks to Gallery Books and Netgalley for the advanced reader’s copy!

    four-stars

     

    About Lindsay Emory

    As a Texan and recovering sorority girl, Lindsay Emory has strong opinions on “real” football (soccer, duh), wine (bubbles, please), and wearing white after Labor Day (just don’t). Lindsay writes books with mystery and romance featuring cranky heroes and the sassy heroines who drive them crazy. She lives on the North Texas plains with two big dogs and her own cranky hero, drinking gimlets and raising two STEM warrior princesses.

  • You may also like