Review | Rock King by Tara Leigh

June 19, 2018 | 2018, review, tara leigh / 0 Comments

Review | Rock King by Tara LeighRock King by Tara Leigh
Series | Nothing But Trouble #1
Release Date | February 20, 2018
Published by Forever Yours
Genres | Contemporary
Format | ARC
Add to TBR | ADD TO GOODREADS
Buy | Amazon
Rating |

Fans of Kristen Callihan and Kylie Scott will scream for this sizzling bad boy rock star romance!

I'm not who you think I am.

Shane Hawthorne has it all. At least, that's what the headlines say about me. I have millions of fans, awards, more money - and women - than I know what to do with. But what you don't see is the wreckage I've caused. The memories and pain I can't escape, even when I pour them into music and spin them into gold.

I tried to forget. To lose myself in booze and groupies. It didn't work. It hurt me and - worse - it hurt my band. That's the last thing I want to do, so I'm cleaning up my act... starting with Delaney Fraser.

Gorgeous, smart, drama-free, and even nice - Delaney is the perfect "girlfriend." When I'm with her I don't have to pretend. It's like she sees the real me. And I can see a future with her. But that's dangerous. Because the truth is, Shane Hawthorne doesn't actually exist. He's a shield to hide who I really am. Fraud. Runaway. Addict. Murderer.

And it's impossible to love a lie, right?

The Nothing but Trouble series:Rock KingRock LegendRock Rebel


The Nothing but Trouble series:
Rock King
Rock Legend
Rock Rebel

Get Rock King, today!

Kindle | Universal Link

iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Purchase in Paperback

Review

I’ve been on a roll with a lot of new to me authors. For some reason, I tend to gravitate towards stories with a rock star theme to it and I’m sure I’m not alone in this, but I just love reading them. I will admit though that the author’s writing style is quite different and something to get used to, I had to change my mindset a bit on truly understanding Shane and Delaney’s story. I’m still at the point where I’m deciding if it’s a kind of writing style that I like or not. However, I still enjoyed this story even if it took some time for me to get through.

Besides the fact that it’s a rockstar read, we can throw in one of my favorite tropes; fake relationship. It’s a dual POV, which I always love because I’m a sucker for wanting to know what’s going on in each other’s head. But you’ll find yourself spending a lot of time up there, their inner turmoil, for most of the book.

These two both have a past that they’re trying to escape from and it’s not until they find each other that they try to work through it and get past it all. As the story progresses, we already see their instant attraction towards each other grow and with that walls are coming down. More for Shane than Delaney.

I truly loved watching their walls come down and seeing their relationship becoming something so much more. I was getting a bit nervous to see how the story would unfold because you can tell that Delaney is really holding back. The assumption is there and that it definitely won’t end well.

All around, I’d say it was a solid and enjoyable read for me. It’s high with the drama and angst, so if that’s not your thing, maybe steer clear. The writing style is something to get used to, but I’m already invested in this series and totally looking forward to the next book … which once I get through some of my reading for the book, I’ll be diving into Rock Legend.


Pre-order the next book in the series…

Pre-order Now – Releasing July 17!

Kindle | Universal Link

iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Purchase in Paperback

About Tara Leigh

Tara Leigh is a multi-published author of steamy contemporary romance. A former banker on Wall Street, she graduated from Washington University and holds an MBA from Columbia Business School, but she much prefers spending her days with fictional boyfriends than analyzing financial spreadsheets. Tara currently lives in Fairfield County, Connecticut with her husband, children, and fur-baby, Pixie. She is represented by Jessica Alvarez, of Bookends Literary Agency.