• Well I had all the intentions to write some late
  • Im slowly on the mend from being sick and jetlag
  • It has been a week Tuesday was the start of
  • OK so this is probably my second ever rep search
  • Being sick jet lagged AND in Hawaii is the absolute
  • 2018 / review / tara leigh

    Review | Rock King by Tara Leigh

    Today we are taking part in the promo tour for ROCK KING by Tara Leigh! ROCK KING is available now, and the second book in the Nothing but Trouble series, ROCK LEGEND, is available for pre-order and will release on July 17! Check out some teasers for both titles below.

    About Rock King

    Fans of Kristen Callihan and Kylie Scott will scream for this sizzling bad boy rock star romance!

    I’m not who you think I am.

    Shane Hawthorne has it all. At least, that’s what the headlines say about me. I have millions of fans, awards, more money – and women – than I know what to do with. But what you don’t see is the wreckage I’ve caused. The memories and pain I can’t escape, even when I pour them into music and spin them into gold.

    I tried to forget. To lose myself in booze and groupies. It didn’t work. It hurt me and – worse – it hurt my band. That’s the last thing I want to do, so I’m cleaning up my act… starting with Delaney Fraser.

    Gorgeous, smart, drama-free, and even nice – Delaney is the perfect “girlfriend.” When I’m with her I don’t have to pretend. It’s like she sees the real me. And I can see a future with her. But that’s dangerous. Because the truth is, Shane Hawthorne doesn’t actually exist. He’s a shield to hide who I really am. Fraud. Runaway. Addict. Murderer.

    And it’s impossible to love a lie, right?

    The Nothing but Trouble series:
    Rock King
    Rock Legend
    Rock Rebel

    Get Rock King, today!

    Kindle | Universal Link

    iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Purchase in Paperback

    Review

    I’ve been on a roll with a lot of new to me authors. For some reason, I tend to gravitate towards stories with a rock star theme to it and I’m sure I’m not alone in this, but I just love reading them. I will admit though that the author’s writing style is quite different and something to get used to, I had to change my mindset a bit on truly understanding Shane and Delaney’s story. I’m still at the point where I’m deciding if it’s a kind of writing style that I like or not. However, I still enjoyed this story even if it took some time for me to get through.

    Besides the fact that it’s a rockstar read, we can throw in one of my favorite tropes; fake relationship. It’s a dual POV, which I always love because I’m a sucker for wanting to know what’s going on in each other’s head. But you’ll find yourself spending a lot of time up there, their inner turmoil, for most of the book.

    These two both have a past that they’re trying to escape from and it’s not until they find each other that they try to work through it and get past it all. As the story progresses, we already see their instant attraction towards each other grow and with that walls are coming down. More for Shane than Delaney.

    I truly loved watching their walls come down and seeing their relationship becoming something so much more. I was getting a bit nervous to see how the story would unfold because you can tell that Delaney is really holding back. The assumption is there and that it definitely won’t end well.

    All around, I’d say it was a solid and enjoyable read for me. It’s high with the drama and angst, so if that’s not your thing, maybe steer clear. The writing style is something to get used to, but I’m already invested in this series and totally looking forward to the next book … which once I get through some of my reading for the book, I’ll be diving into Rock Legend.

    ✮✮✮1/2

    Add ROCK KING to Goodreads

    Pre-order the next book in the series…

    Pre-order Now – Releasing July 17!

    Kindle | Universal Link

    iBooks | Nook | Kobo | Purchase in Paperback

    Meet the Author

    Tara Leigh writes steamy contemporary romance featuring tortured heroes worth lusting after and the women they didn’t know they needed. She attended Washington University in St. Louis and Columbia Business School in New York, and worked on Wall Street and Main Street before “retiring” to become a wife and mother. When the people in her head became just as real as the people in her life, she decided to put their stories on paper. Tara currently lives in Fairfield County, Connecticut with her husband, children and fur-baby, Pixie.

    Website | Facebook Profile | Facebook Page | Bookbub | Amazon | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads

    Join Tara Leigh’s Newsletter

    Join Tara Leigh’s Reader Group

  • You may also like