Blog Tour & Review | The Jack by M.K. Harkins

September 3, 2018 | 2018, blog tour, giveaway, m.k. harkins, review / 0 Comments

Today we have the blog tour of THE JACK by MK Harkins! Check out the tour and be sure to grab your copy today!

Blog Tour & Review | The Jack by M.K. HarkinsThe Jack by M.K. Harkins
Series | The Immortal #2
Release Date | August 20th, 2018
Genres | Paranormal
Format | ARC
Buy | Amazon
Rating |

What matters more to Archer: saving the woman he loves but can never have, protecting humanity, or avoiding a prison sentence that would stretch for eternity?

Archer is a half breed, caught between two opposing heritages - the Jacks, a bloodthirsty race who kills for sport, and the Readers, a docile race trying to save humankind. Two years ago, he betrayed the Readers, though, in a last-minute change of heart, saved them from ultimate destruction. But now he’s all alone, wallowing in unrequited love.

Sadie is an Immortal Seer with a dangerous calling: she must hunt down and destroy the last of the vengeful Jacks. But her quirky humor and gentle spirit make her an unlikely fit for the job.

Archer is drawn to Sadie’s pure, kindhearted nature, rekindling hope he might not have to live a solitary life, but he has no idea the danger he’s in.

When fate forces the mortal enemies to work together, Sadie must determine which side Archer is on, how much of his charm is real, and if she should follow through with her directive: should she kill him or save him?

Get Your Copy Now!


I found this story to be rather enjoyable to read! It was my first time reading from this author and I’m looking forward to reading the rest in this series. I loved the premise of the Readers, Jacks, and Seers and found all of it rather intriguing. There were times where I felt like I was missing something from the story, which I have a feeling you’d get a great deal of if you’ve read the first book in the series, The Reader. I think if I read that book first before jumping into The Jack, I would have had a better understanding of the plot and all the relationships between the characters that were mentioned.

Sadie was definitely an amusing character, she was definitely pure, and good just emanated from her constantly. But I felt bad for her solitary life, so it was great when she finally made friends with some Readers and of course, Archer. I was a bit surprised on how quick her judgment was towards Archer and how constant it was too. It almost seemed out of nature for her. I thought it was a bit unfair, but then again I was very much Team Archer!

I loved Archer and I definitely felt for him and everything he has been through. Being a Reader/Jack mix, it’s tough to find your place in the world. Something huge happened in The Reader that I have a vague idea of, but it definitely (or almost) severed ties with some close relationships he had with the Readers. I didn’t like how he’d constantly admit to something that he wasn’t a 100% sure if he did or not. And he was quick to make a final decision to end his life (if it came to it), if he wasn’t able to prove that his innocence.  It was rather heartbreaking, but I loved that the people that he used to be close to that knew better and were persistent in finding out the truth.

I definitely enjoyed the story, it was a bit predictable and felt like events skipped around a bit too easily. I wish there was a bit more world building because it would definitely enhance this series. A little bit of the history is mentioned, but I’d totally be up for reading an even deeper history of this world. The one thing that bugged me a little bit was the ending, it felt way too quick to me.  I was hoping for a bit more romance, but I’ve been seeing it categorized as a YA. It didn’t come off YA to me at all and well these characters are technically pretty old 😉

All around, still a great story and I’ll be going back and reading The Reader!



Catch Up on the Series


Enter MK’s Giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About M.K. Harkins

MK has always been a voracious reader. After hitting a dry spell of reading material, she decided to write the kind of book she’d like to read. This resulted in the creation of her debut novel, Intentional. (Award for Best Sweet Romance – eFestival of Words- August 2014)

Unintentional, the second book in the series, is based on the life of one of the characters in Intentional (Cade – an engineer/rock star). Unintentional was written as a stand-alone book.

Breaking Braydon, another stand-alone book, is now available on Amazon.

Taking Tiffany (A spin-off) is available now.

MK is currently working on a paranormal romance – The Reader. Due out 2016.

When she’s not writing novels, she likes to spend her free time traveling the world, splashing in mud puddles (She lives in Seattle, what can she say?), watching movies and reading (!)